Resolutions


It’s the holiday season for all of us out there once again. No matter where you are or what you are doing you will most likely be celebrating the beginning of a new year with loved ones near and dear to you.

Now talking about New years and with the name of this post being ‘Resolutions’, it’s not that hard to guess what I’m going to be talking about- resolutions and regrets!

Now after 365…366 this time since I think it’s a leap year this year…whatever! Most of us have alot to regret throughout the year. We’ve all made some mistakes and with the new year coming we all think “now is the time to put them behind us!” and you know what…I think that’s absolutely right!

With a new year will come new problems, hopefully. I say hopefully because what’s life without some conflict? Damn boring is what the hell it is! Other problems like bills or cancer wont go away with the change of the calendar date…those will always be there unless a miracle happens. If you really are hoping for a miracle then know that it is the season of miracles so you’re lucky.

Still, do you have any regrets? Do you have an emotional boulder that’s been dragging you down for the past year or however long before that? Well I say that it’s time to forget your problems and move on with life. I believe that there’s no use crying over something we cant change, the only reason the negative past is worth looking back at is so that we know what we dont want in the future.

November 11th, Remembrance Day, is a great example of not forgetting the past to ensure a greater future. Where would we probably be today if we just went and forgot WWII…probably somewhere worse than then. Not that i’m not saying that there wont ever be another great war…sadly…but know that every generation has it’s own great war.  Sometime the wars are fought with guns on foreign fields while in other cases the war is fought between the people and the state but we all will experience our own great war someday.

I am a total believer in the power of New years resolutions but I find that sometimes people misinterpret the word ‘resolution’ as another word for ‘wish’. I’m talking to the people who go off and make resolutions that they damn well know they are not going to keep.

The key to resolution success is that you can’t bullshit yourself into doing something. A common example is going to the gym and working out etc. I’m not saying that you’re not going to ever succeed but know that if you’re going to quit after a few weeks then why bother lying to yourself- save your money!

In elementary school when I was taught about goalsetting I was taught about S.M.A.R.T.

S- specific

M-measureable

A-Achieveable

R- realistic

T- time oriented

Someone correct me on that if i’m wrong. Anyways, the point is that if you’re going to make a resolution to improve yourself in some way or improve the quality of your life in 2009 then kudos to you.  As Katt Williams said “You gotta look out for your star playa” and when goal setting you need to follow these criteria.

I have been guilty of it myself on many an occasion but I know that if you are going to seriously want to improve yourself in 2009 you will follow these instructions to resolution making.

On the issue of regrets, I’ve had myself a few before, i’m human,  but I realize that all the events in my life have shaped me as a person. You have to take life for the good, the bad and the ugly bits. I realized that if I have regrets then i’m not happy with myself as as person. Are you happy with yourself as a person? Why am I unhappy about myself? Is it me or is it someone else? These are things to ask yourself when you have regrets.

In total, I think that there’s always time for self-improvement. Knowledge is the most important pursuit in life. Even if you’re happy with yourself I think you should always set a goal for yourself in the new year. Also, the past will always be there but the future isn’t guaranteed so I think it’s always time to look not at whats forward but whats in the present. The only thing you can do for the future is hope but  by living for the present you can make sure that there are no more regrets for later.

Entertain me with your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

