Family


This time of year, the holiday season, is where we all most likely are close to those who we hold near and dear. In this post I want to discuss what ‘family’ means to me.

Blood may run thicker than water but you still need water to live.

That quote sums up how I value my family. In this world some of us are blessed with a loving family and friends but at the same time there are others who are not so fortunate.  I notice that people put alot of emphasis on blood relations and keeping contact with blood relations but I dont really think of that as being too important.

I think what’s important is creating a bond stronger than blood. At the end of the day, blood is just blood and it can’t change the feelings people have for eachother. When we take the time to create a stronger bond than blood, with people who we are sure will care for us through thick and thin, they what you have created is a family.

The family you are born into may not or may never have been there for you at all but when you create unbreakable bonds with people, you’ve got a family.

I’m thankful that i’ve got a huge family, a long list of people who i’m willing to go down for and who I know will go down for me if anything. But i’m a bit saddened by the fact that there are people out there who dont have a family to share the joy with.

If you can, give a lonely looking person a smile. Brighten up someone’s day with more than a gift and a goodbye but with some human contact. Show that you are willing to acknowledge them. Being forgotten at this time of year or at any time is a horrible feeling…I believe that if people know that they at least exist then they can do something for themselves to improve the quality of their lives.

Anyways, entertain me with what you think is family or on any major points I missed.

Leave a Reply

