Caribana 2010!


Alright people! So…did you all enjoy the past month with Lionel? I know I did but now you’re stuck with uncle Poison for the next month! I’ll leisurely watch as our pageviews plummet into the depths of tartarus until Lionel returns from his vacation. Otherwise, I’ll be here to keep you all entertained and I’ll begin this solo show with a nice little showing of my excursion to Caribana 2010!

So this weekend past on Saturday July 31st, I decided to take a trip down to Toronto’s Caribana festival. No, I wasn’t there for the entire festival since there are other events all over the city during that week that lead up to caribana. I was only there for the parade but the fact is that the parade is the only thing most people  care about.

Now for a picture by picture account of my day starting at Toronto’s union station.

Alright, so it was hot and stinking in the subway as my friends and I made our way to the street car that would take us to the parade route on Lakeshore road. In the picture you might recognize the face of the infamous Mr.Chocolate (check out our Feburary video to see him in action) alongside some new companions who will not be identified.

A fair warning to those of you who do wish to visit Toronto one day for this event, try to get into the city early. On the day of the parade traffic to get into the city is complete chaos. I’ll give you a runthrough of all possible ways into the city on that day and how long it takes.

By car/bus- You’ll be stuck in traffic for at least an hour. I can guarantee that if you’re not already in the city. The highways are always packed, streets are always blocked off and public transit is always in a state of disarray. In total- getting into the city will take a long ass time and to top it off it’s almost always on a hot ass day in the summer.

By GO train- it’s not so bad if you’re taking the train to Exhibition Place.  Still, the train is bound to be packed too but the train has air conditioning, cushy seats, less stops and is a little bit more expensive. Alas, you still need to wait for the train and since it’s on a weekend the GO Train is quite iffy. Also, the train obviously doesn’t come as frequently as the bus or subway train. I personally dont reccomend this route if you’re prone to being late for things like myself.

Anyways, after this we all went to the parade. There was much dancing, singing, drinking and smoking to be had by many of us there. So here are the pictures for you all to entertain yourselves with while I plan some more big shit!

Keep us entertained

.

Leave a Reply

