Remembrance Day Special


In an impromptu interview by an aspiring journalist I was asked why I wear the poppy and the significance of Remembrance Day (Veteran’s Day for my neighbors South of the border) to me, I almost laughed at the audacity that someone had to actually ask me why I wear a red and black poppy, but after I heard his line of questioning I thought he had a legitimate reason to ask his original question. One of the questions he asked me was if I thought the younger generations of people are more disconnected from the understanding of what Remembrance Day is; I impartially responded that it comes down to the education system to educate these young people as to why we have Remembrance Day, why we have our freedoms. To be brutally honest the younger generations are more disconnected than the older generations because they haven’t been able to feel the immediate effect of what the veterans have done, we can only hope they understand; which brings me to the point of this post and the original question that prompted my interview: why I wear the poppy and the significance of Remembrance Day to me.

The red and black poppy and Remembrance Day go hand-in-hand for me you cannot have one without the other. I buy a poppy every year not just to support the veterans of war but as to show my appreciation for what they have done not just for me but for everyone around. As a child born at the end of the Cold War, I was able to see one of the many transformations of the world we live in. That red and black poppy is the sign that I remember the actions of those before me and that I live in the consequences, good or bad, of their actions. The red and black poppy is the symbol that I appreciate the actions of those who died in combat so others could sleep peacefully in their beds at night. The red and black poppy is the symbol of the dichotomy that is peace through war and death. Need I say more? The red and black poppy and Remembrance Day to me is the reason I can sit in a university classroom and call people stupid ingrates when they say the world wars were just mindless violence.

What’s the red and black poppy and Remembrance Day mean to you?

Keep Us Entertained!

Leave a Reply

