Frame by Frame


So, as you all know now The Infection has officially shut it’s doors for the last time as of December 18th 2010. Some of you might be sad about it and others like myself are really sad about it but it’s time for us to move onto greater things.

Before I leave this place for good I want to thank you all for your constant support over the last 104 weeks. We love all the comments, good and bad. We see your page views and where they come from but we thank you for sticking with us. Even if we didn’t deliver on promises alot of the time or entertain you we’re glad you stayed with us the whole time. We appreciate all the people who have volunteered to help us and all the people who have come to correct our mistakes in the past.  This is on behalf of all of us here at The Infection- Thank you.

I also feel, as a leader, that I have to thank all of the staff here at The Infection for doing their best over these last two years. It’s been good to have you all here and god damn I hope to see alot of you at the new site with me. I even want to thank those of you who have come and gone breifly as well as all the people who have written guest posts for us in the past. Thank you all.

Finally, this is for me…I want to close the floor with one last post I had started writing a few months back but never got to finishing for some reason or the other. I see no point in letting it go to waste but here’s one last thing to keep you all entertained!

We’ll see you at the new site!

It’s Poison here again people and the last few weeks have been brutal! The Infection has been all over the place between conventions and we’re still trying to keep things afloat over here and on Deviantart. Check shit out and keep us entertained!

So tonight’s topic of choice is ‘Comic books into Film’. In the past month we’ve seen two comic books be brought into the glitz and glamour of Hollywood. ‘Iron Man 2’ as well as ‘The Losers’. You can be sure that my nerdiness made me have to go see both. Now you get to hear me talk about it, you poor unfortunate souls.

So let me open the floor by saying that I love comic books turned into movies when they’re done right. I like to think that I’m not too critical of comics going into movie form but at the same time it also depends on how much I like the comic as well as how popular the comic is.

A great example of this would be a Batman movie. Now Batman has been in television and movies long before I was born and he’s been changed and revamped for every era. This is why I never expect much of a Batman movie because I know that they can go in any direction with it. Hate me now comic book fans. I’ll admit that there are some real heavy hits like ‘The Dark Knight’ but there are some misses on that franchaise like ‘Batman Forever’. The point I want to make is that with well established heroes like Batman and Superman you can’t really go wrong with a movie about one of them as long as you follow the basics of the comic universe you’re dealing with. This is one of the things I have to say will work in DC’s favor since they can simply claim that the movies are a universe of their own and they can pull off any shit thanks to their multiple worlds universe. Marvel on the other hand has a little less leeway as far as deviation from original content goes.

That being said, it leads into the biggest issue I’ve heard from comic book fans about comics into movies- deviation from source material. It’s my pet peeve. I remember (spoiler alert) the end of Watchmen and how  I complained about the lack of a tentacle monster. The original ending is good for people who have read the original source material but at the same time it didn’t make sense. The situation with Watchmen is a good one given the fact that they were smart enough to correct the ending for film. I admit that a tentacle monster would have been stupid.  Alas, there are some cases where they should have never deviated from source material and kept things closer to canon. My favorite example is in Spiderman 3. That movie was horrible…I could begin to start naming where they should have kept closer to source material and there were other problems too but it was an overall great example of too much deviation in my opinion.

One thought on “Frame by Frame

Leave a Reply

